Questions and Answers on Coronavirus
The best way to protect our community from any emerging health concern is with useful information. Here are answers to the most common questions we’ve received from our clients about COVID-19, aka Coronavirus.
We will update this information as this public health issue develops.
Frequently Asked Questions
I may have been exposed to COVID-19, what next?
Answer: Not everyone who is “exposed” to COVID-19 needs to be tested, but rather only the highest risk exposures. A high risk exposure is defined as contact within 6ft to a lab proven Covid-19 case for greater than 15 mins where one person was not wearing a mask. If you meet that criteria we do recommend testing at least 5-7 days after the exposure happened. If you test too early the test may read falsely negative. We do not recommend routine testing if you do not meet the criteria for a high risk exposure as the chance of transmission is very low.
What do I have to do if I am quarantined?
Answer: Quarantine is used to keep someone who is infected or may have been exposed to COVID-19 away from others. Quarantine helps prevent spread of disease that can occur before a person knows they are sick or if they are infected with the virus without feeling symptoms.
If you are instructed to be in quarantine, you must stay at home, separate yourself from others, monitor your health, and follow directions from your health care provider. They will instruct you based on guidelines from state and local health departments.
If you have COVID-19, the current quarantine is 10 days from time of testing or symptom onset AND at least 72 hours without symptoms (specifically fever and cough).
If you have been exposed, we recommend:
- getting tested, and
- you must quarantine until test results come in.
- If results are negative, your quarantine is lifted,
- If results are positive, you must follow guidelines and quarantine for 10 days (see above).
If you have been exposed but choose not to be tested, you need to quarantine a total of 14 days to prevent spread to others.
To read more about quarantine, isolation, and social distancing from the CDC, click here.
Am I required to wear a face covering when I am away from home?
Answer: All people in California are now required by law to wear face coverings in most public indoor settings other than in their own homes, plus in other situations where exposure is likely. Examples include waiting in line outside, using public transportation, and working with the public. For more information from the California Department of Public Health, read here.
I am caring for someone at home – what should I do? Click here.
I am caring for myself at home – what should I do? Click here.
Why am I being screened before I can be permitted to enter DAP?
Answer: DAP puts the health and safety of our clients, volunteers and employees first. To prevent unnecessary exposures on the DAP campus, screening is mandatory for anyone entering a DAP building.
Anyone refusing to be screened or failing to comply with instructions given by DAP screeners will be required to leave the DAP campus.
Is DAP offering testing?
Answer: Yes. DAP offers testing to asymptomatic and symptomatic people who want to know if they are infected or have been exposed to Coronavirus. Our priority will always be for symptomatic or exposed patients first and then asymptomatic patients or antibody testing based on current surges and testing availability.
Anyone who thinks they need testing for COVID-19 should call (760) 992-0407 for information and the opportunity to talk to DAP clinician about next steps.
I've had COVID-19. Should I come to DAP for re-testing?
Answer: Your doctor will know best when to re-test you, and which test to administer for the most accurate reading. Re-testing too quickly will not change your quarantine time, and it could provide false results.
- People can continue to test positive (but are non-infectious) for up to 4-6 weeks after initial testing.
- Re-testing does not change management or quarantine recommendations.
If you need follow up care for symptom management, DAP is here for you. Please call (760) 992-0407 for more information.
By conserving resources, we can serve more people in our community.
Is there a charge for rapid antibody testing at DAP?
Answer: DAP is committed to offering COVID-19 rapid antibody testing to our community, especially people facing financial challenges during this time. We can do this because a generous donor provided these tests.
Clients receiving rapid antibody testing who have commercial PPO coverage will notice that we bill their insurance company. There is never a co-pay, and no additional expense to the client.
We do not bill for rapid antibody testing for the uninsured and underinsured of the Coachella Valley and Riverside County.
Please call the hotline (760) 992-0407 if you’d like to talk to someone about your coverage and the cost of COVID-19 testing at DAP. We will always work to provide you the quickest and most reliable testing option possible.
I have HIV and I am concerned about Coronavirus. What should I do?
Answer: For people living with HIV/AIDS, we are currently advising extra adherence to the CDC’s recommendations for protecting against COVID-19, which happen to be the same for protecting yourself from respiratory illness.
We also are suggesting that they stay home as much as possible, but maintain a social network remotely to help you stay socially connected and mentally healthy.
Also, that they avoid non-essential travel, and large public gatherings.
Important guidelines to follow still include:
- Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds.
- Avoid close contact with people who are sick– keep a six-foot distance.
- Avoid touching your face.
- Stay home when you are sick.
- Sneeze/cough into your elbow—not your hand.
- Avoid non-essential travel.
- Avoid large public gatherings.
- Stay home as much as possible.
You can also have a conversation with your DAP clinician on MyChart, which is a great way to get the personalized information specific to your needs that you deserve. We can help you get set up if you aren’t already.
Is there a plan in place at the clinic?
Answer: Yes. All DAP clinical personnel have the requisite training, tools and safeguards to safely provide care for any DAP client experiencing symptoms of respiratory illness.
DAP has worked closely with the County of Riverside Department of Public Health (RIVCO) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to determine the best ways for us to serve our community in this epidemic.
How can people get COVID-19 / Coronavirus? Is there risk for airborne transmission?
Answer: COVID-19 / Coronavirus appears to be transmitted by droplets, or small particles that travel in respiratory secretions. There has also been some recent evidence that the virus may last in the air, or be spread by airborne transmission. However, this is negligible and does not represent a significant form of spread, nor does it change any or our current guidelines.
It is spread:
- Between people who are in close contact with one another (within about 6 feet).
- Through respiratory droplets produced when an infected person coughs or sneezes or shares saliva with another person.
These droplets can land in the mouths or noses of people who are nearby or possibly be inhaled into the lungs.
It may also be possible that a person can get COVID-19 by touching a surface or object that has the virus on it and then touching their own mouth, nose, or possibly their eyes, but this is not thought to be a significant way the virus spreads, and therefore routine glove wearing is not recommended. Washing your hand frequently with soap and water or ethanol based sanitizer is the best way to protect yourself from surfaces exposed to COVID-19.
If someone has symptoms or exposed and is trying to decide whether they should get checked for Coronavirus by coming in, what should they do?
Answer: Anyone who thinks they might be suffering from COVID-19 should call (760) 992-0407 for information and the opportunity to talk to DAP clinician about their symptoms.
- The COVID-19 Triage Clinic does not accept walk-ins.
- You must discuss your symptoms with a clinician by calling (760) 992-0407– it will be decided then if you can be seen at the COVID-19 Triage Clinic.
- If you attempt to be seen at the COVID-19 Triage Clinic without an appointment, you are putting yourself and others at risk – please call (760) 992-0407 to talk to someone.
- If you are experiencing a life-threatening emergency call 911.
I’m a bodyworker or sex worker and I want to keep my clients and me safe – what should I do?
Answer: Coronavirus is spread through close contact with a person who has the virus. It’s spread through droplets, such as from coughing or saliva. And it can stay behind on doorknobs, toilets, light switches, sinks, massage tables, and anything made of latex or silicone.
Keeping your environment wiped down with disinfectant wipes after each client is part of your role in your business. But assessing risks from your client is also very important.
- Your client could have it on their skin if they have not washed thoroughly.
- An infected client could transmit it to you by coughing or sneezing near you if they don’t wear a mask.
- The virus is also present in feces, which makes touching the anal area another way of possibly transmitting.
- You could also give it to your client easily if you are infected.
Before you begin any session with a client, we recommend you screen them so that you can assess your own risk. When negotiating services, prices, and laying ground rules, cover off on Coronavirus too. Here is how you might ask the question:
“I just want to check in with you first on a few things to make sure we’re both safe about Coronavirus.” Clarify the following:
- Do you know if you’ve been exposed to Coronavirus?
- Have you recently had a temperature of more than 100 degrees or other symptoms of respiratory illness, like cough, fever, shortness of breath?
- Have you or someone you live with traveled internationally lately?
If your client answers “yes” to one or more of these, you are taking a risk by continuing the session. If you choose to continue, here are some tips to help cut down the risks:
- Make sure you are already washing your hands several times throughout the day for a full 20 seconds with warm water. Use hand sanitizer when you cannot wash your hands.
- Latex gloves, condoms, and dental damns are highly recommended for sex work, now more than ever.
- Have your client wear a paper mask during the entire session if they have symptoms like coughing or shortness of breath, or wheezing. If wearing a mask, use it only once and then throw away immediately in a trash can. Do not reuse masks.
- Use sanitizer gel generously. You can make your own by mixing 3 parts isopropyl alcohol to 1 part aloe vera gel. It’s perfectly OK to also add a few drops of your favorite oil (like tea tree) to give it a nice smell.
- Do not touch your own face – this is one of the surest ways to contract any virus.
- Shower thoroughly after each client and change clothes to minimize possible spreading of Coronavirus.
How is DAP helping the community stay in the know about Coronavirus?
Answer: DAP has created a COVID-19 Hotline (760) 992-0407 for information and the opportunity to talk to DAP clinician about symptoms.
DAP is also helping the community be prepared for Coronavirus by reaching out to them on social media, its website, and literature in English and Spanish at its clinics.
We also plan to release weekly updates as this situation continues.
How can I stay updated on COVID-19 disease in Riverside County and the U.S.?
Answer: if you are interested in daily updates, please visit the following websites:
- RUHS-PH COVID-19 page: http://rivcoph.org/coronavirus/
- CDC COVID-19 page: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/
- Current CDC travel advisories: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/index.html
You can also find out more by calling the following:
CDC Information Line:
Riverside County Public Information Line: (951) 358-5134
Should I consider donating plasma to the COVID-19 Convalescent Plasma Program?
Answer: If you have recovered from COVID-19, please consider donating plasma to the COVID-19 Convalescent Plasma Program
Patients who have recovered from COVID-19 may have immune-boosting antibodies in their plasma; that plasma—called “COVID-19 convalescent plasma”—could be used to treat critically ill COVID-19 patients. The treatment is not proven but may have some impact in preliminary studies. Click here to learn more about how you can participate in the COVID-19 Convalescent Plasma Program.
How can I cope with my grief around losing my loved one or friend to COVID-19?
Answer: All hospice organizations provide grief and recovery counseling. Persons are not required to have received hospice care with the agency to receive the counseling, including support groups.
Some serving this area include:
- VNA Hospice and Palliative Care of SoCal – 800-969-4862
- Vitas Healthcare – 909-386-6000
- Riverside Hospice Care – 877-952-4470
- Desert Care Hospice – 760-318-0668
- Ardent Hospice of the Desert – 760-904-6070
- Kindred Hospice – 760-346-2816